The nurse is caring for a group of clients in an infectious disease unit. The nurse understands that which of the conditions listed are required to be reported by the CDC? Select all that apply.

  • tetanus
  • scarlet fever
  • chlamydia
  • Lyme disease
  • group B streptococcal infection
Numbers 1, 3, and 4 are correct.
Tetanus, chlamydia, and Lyme disease are designated as reportable diseases by the CDC. Reportable diseases are considered to be a national concern due to their seriousness, the risk of death, or the ease with which they spread. Untreated tetanus can lead to laryngospasm, pneumonia, pulmonary embolism, and difficulty breathing. Chlamydia can cause permanent damage to a woman’s reproductive system and may cause a potentially fatal ectopic pregnancy. Lyme disease can spread to any organ in the body and may cause permanent damage to the brain, heart, and neurological system. Scarlet fever and group B streptococcal infection are not reportable under current CDC guidelines.